Does the Pope Live in the Woods?

I learned something this week (that I already knew), that I found very energizing.  At my IT Service Management Forum meeting this week the pre-presentation networking session was a little awkward; I hadn’t been to one of those meetings in months, and it seemed like everyone was in cliques.  I’m shy by nature, so I find interjecting myself challenging.  During the presentation on control frameworks (e.g. ITIL, Six Sigma) I had some things to say during Q & A that sparked a lively discussion.  After the presentation I had a circle of people around me, several of whom approached me about coffee meetings.  It was a pretty cool feeling.  So what I learned is if you’re going to be a bear, be a grizzly.  You have to get in the fast water and grab a salmon, you can’t wait for another bear to throw you one.

Explore posts in the same categories: Job Search

Leave a Reply

