Work, The Final Frontier

I have just finished my 5th week with a company that provides IT support for doctor’s offices and clinics.  It’s the first time I have worked in a non-enterprise IT environment.  I’m really enjoying it.  I’m learning something new every day, and everyone is friendly and supportive.  It’s the first time I’ve taken an IT job where I didn’t quickly feel like I had obstacles to overcome with some people.  For example, unknown to me, at one former employer some of my co-workers hacked the payroll to see what I was getting paid, and got their noses bent out of joint in a major way.  Maybe by now nobody feels threatened by my shambling, graying figure.  It’s a great situation to perfect humility: I don’t get paid what I used to get paid (but having been under fiscal discipline for so long, it feels like an outrageous fortune), and I’m doing a job I used to manage.  I have had a few embarrassing moments – like installing a hard drive upside-down – but it feels pretty cool to know the difference between PATA and SATA, and an RJ-45 versus an RJ-11.  But what’s coolest of I have access to office supplies, and my needs for paper clips and post-it notes are being met.  That’s just awesome.

I know a number of 50 and 60 somethings still out there struggling.  Not long ago I discovered a relatively obscure saint, Saint Catejan (also known as Cateyano), who was the patron saint of the unemployed.  I started praying for his intercession, and in less than two months I had a job, after almost 5 years of seeking to be somebody’s FTE.  Here’s a link:  http://www.entrepr3neur.com/20090716/faith/st-cayetano-patron-saint-of-job-seekers-and-the-unemployed/.

For those first two months the graces desired were

I desire the graces of perseverance and cheerfulness while I look for a job, and the grace of gratitude for your intercession when I find one.  Help me live out my faith in the workplace and be a living testimony of the love of our Lord Jesus Christ.

I am still start every workday with prayer to St. Cateyano, slightly modified:

I desire the graces of perseverance and cheerfulness while I do my job, and the grace of gratitude for your intercession for finding one.  Help me live out my faith in the workplace and be a living testimony of the love of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Changing the subject, just watched a great family movie made in 1960 titled “The Sundowners”, starring Robert Mitchum (a much underrated actor) and the luminescent Deborah Kerr as husband and wife in 1920s Australia, making their living as sheep drovers.  A very entertaining movie, and a great reflection on marriage, the agonies and the ecstasies.  It was nominated for 5 Academy Awards, including Deborah Kerr for Best Actress, but it won none.  Elizabeth Taylor won Best Actress that year for “Butterfield 8”.  I’d compare Elizabeth Taylor winning any award over Deborah Kerr to Danny Devito beating out Tim Duncan for a jump ball.  But to quote Patrick Swayze in “Road House”, opinions vary.  Check it out “The Sundowners”.

God bless!

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith, Humor, Job Search

Leave a Reply

