Ezekiel 13-15; Hebrews 12

Hebrews 12:7 “Endure your trials as discipline; God treats you as sons.  For what “son” is there whom his father does not discipline?”  Hmmm, my dad always threatened discipline, but it was my mother that meted out the punishment.  Fortunately I was the best kid ever, so being disciplined was not a factor in my childhood.  My siblings might take issue, but I was like Obi-Wan Kenobi, Jedi mind-controlling my parents.  “I am not the breaker of the lamp you are looking for.”  I’m always a little leery of the “trials as discipline” reasoning, especially when it leads to “God does not give us more than we can handle” attempt at solace.  Well, if God “gives” us stuff, of course He does.  250 Chinese killed in a mudslide got more than they could handle. That Kenyan that ended up as brunch for a lion got more than he could handle.  The lady that married Alec Baldwin got more than she could handle (I tease, I joke…..not really). The Book of Job addresses this magnificently.  Ultimately where we when He laid the foundations of the universe?  Dunno, I missed that kick-off meeting; wonder if there were sandwiches?

GOD’S ANSWER: You are still greatly prideful My son – and a tad insolent, despite unemployment, Guillain-Barre, and the Cleveland Browns – all My gifts to you, hope you enjoy them.  And I am looking at a list, trying to decide on future gifts: hmmm  let Me see….IRS audit, the heartbreak of psoriasis, prominent man-boobs.  I’m not done with you yet, My boy.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Ezekiel 13-15; Hebrews 12”

  1. Stan Sikorski Says:

    Man boobs! Ye god!


Leave a Reply

