Hosea 4-6; 1 John 4

Hosea 6:6 “For it is love that I desire, not sacrifice, and knowledge of God rather than holocausts.”  I didn’t live this for most of my life, as I was a minimalist.  What was the minimum I needed to do as a Catholic to ultimately be saved?  My attitude towards God was servile, not filial.  Ten years ago I couldn’t have told you what the precepts of the Church were; I had a dim awareness that if I dutifully went to Mass on Sundays and Holy Days (It was a holy day last Wednesday?  Oops I forgot, which is okay, since I forgot it was not a mortal sin) and got around to confessing my serious sins I should be all right.  Even with doubts about the state of my soul I took the Eucharist, because it would look “awkward” to stay in the pew and abstain.  And that was vanity, like fellow congregants would be talking about how the big goober didn’t take Communion over their Sunday dinner.  Forgive my wandering, lukewarm heart O Lord.  Lead me on paths that increase my knowledge and love of  You.

GOD’S ANSWER: My Son took flesh so that humanity could come to know and love Me.  Listen to Him, and come to the Wedding Feast of the Lamb, at which Love will never end!

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

Leave a Reply

