Genesis 4-6; Revelation 18

Genesis 4:9 “The Lord asked Cain, “Where is your brother Abel?”  He answered “I do not know.  Am I my brother’s keeper?”  Wow.  Cain not only lied to God, but got cheeky with Him.  It seems amazing that a human being could talk directly with God and cop an attitude.  But then I have done it, at least the copping an attitude part.  I have committed sin and excused myself with lies, mostly lying to myself.  We see in the story of Cain God’s exasperation as a loving Father, just but also merciful.  And yes, God’s answer is that yes, you are your brother’s and sister’s keeper.  Jesus reaffirms this in the Gospel of John, “Love one another, as I have loved you. (John 15:12)  Simple concept, hard to live out.

GOD’S ANSWER:  To those who have been given much, much is expected.  I have given America much, so I expect much from you.  Do not turn inward, as just as that might seem.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

Leave a Reply

