Exodus 3-6; Matthew 12

Exodus 6:30 “But Moses protested to the Lord, “Since I am a poor speaker, how can it be that Pharaoh will listen to me?””  Thus Chapter 6 of Exodus ends with a whine from Moses that God has already answered more than once, assuring Moses that He has his back.  Nonetheless Moses continues to drag his feet and complain.  After reading these three chapters I am convinced Rodney Dangerfield would have been better casting in “The Ten Commandments” than Charlton Heston.  I would think that if God spoke directly to me – His James Earl Jones-like voice coming from a burning bush or from the clouds above – I would (after changing my underwear) be 100% on board.  That to me though is why you really don’t want God to reveal Himself that way, because when He does He has a mission for you, almost always an insurmountably difficult and/or insanely dangerous one that you would by your own hook not take on in a million years.  For example, “Jonah, go and preach repentance to the Assyrians.  They will most likely hang you by your entrails after the first five minutes, but at least you can say you gave it your best shot.”  It is also remarkable how He uses the spectacularly weak and flawed to accomplish these missions.  How fortunate I am that God gives me the relatively easy task of abiding by His Word.  That said, I still whine and drag my feet like a 15 year-old boy told to get out of bed and get ready for school.  Lord, thank You for Your love and patience with this most unworthy servant, and continue to mold me to conform more closely with Your holy will.

GOD’S ANSWER: I know each of you more thoroughly than you will ever know yourselves – before you were born I knew you!  I love you, and I know you are trying.  As a baby will get some painful bumps in learning to walk, so will you in coming to better know Me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

Leave a Reply

