A Day in the Life

My beloved wife Mary had her port put in yesterday and begins chemotherapy today.  She has a hard road ahead of her (most likely) before receiving healing.  God in His grace has me fairly functional in my recovery from Guillain-Barre to the point I can assist to a high degree, but without the outpouring of love and support from friends, neighbors, and our parish we would be in a tough place.  Prayers of thankfulness and praise go up!

I find reflecting on suffering challenging.  I am most conscious that each person has their own experience of it, and I certainly don’t want to convey the impression that my suffering is anywhere close to ultimate suffering.  For example, I have not been at a funeral for one of my own children or grandchildren, which I imagine is about as intense and poignant, a suffering there is.  I recently watched the movie “God’s Not Dead”, and the following was perhaps my favorite scene, eerie in tone and a great springboard for reflection on suffering:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YVi0kEJT6rQ

Our Rosary group has been meeting every weekday at 06:00 and praying the Sorrowful Mysteries during Lent.  This morning as leader I was able to dedicate our prayers to my wife and all beginning or following a course of cancer treatment, that Mother Mary and her Son take them by the hand and bring them to eventual healing.

God bless.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

3 Comments on “A Day in the Life”

  1. gene mckay Says:

    Tom,

    Wow – haven’t been plugged in for a bit. Sorry to hear about all your challenges. I’ll keep you & the mrs in my prayers.

    I’ve been tending to my folks out west – my dad passed in August so I’ve moved mom here & she has alhizemiers.

    Daughter got married last year, moved to Jacksonsonville & started a family right away – just became a grandpa yesterday – Ethan Paul Hammond & has the same firery red hair as his mom. All is good in the world.

    Gene

    On Thu, Mar 10, 2016 at 8:38 AM, Toms Sometimes Wacky Desert Journey wrote:

    > Thomas Walker posted: “My beloved wife Mary had her port put in yesterday > and begins chemotherapy today. She has a hard road ahead of her (most > likely) before receiving healing. God in His grace has me fairly > functional in my recovery from Guillain-Barre to the point I can as” >

  2. Stan Sikorski, LPC Says:

    I’m here. If you need to talk, call!Stan


Leave a Reply

