Numbers 4-6; Mark 6

Mark 6:4 “Jesus said to them, “A prophet is not without honor except in his native place and among his own kin and his own house.””  How very true this is.  Now don’t get me wrong: my own kin are wonderful people and I love them dearly, but I would be surprised if there is anyone who can’t relate to this.  Olive Garden had a relatively short-lived ad campaign with the tag line “When you are here you are family!”  I think it might have been short-lived because most people might be like me: when I eat out I don’t want to be treated like family, I want to be treated like a stranger who possibly can leave 20%.  Jesus’ experience in Nazareth is a great and enduring human phenomenon, what we might call the “We knew you when” factor.   You know there is someone for example that is not impressed with Donald Trump – not because of anything he’s saying or doing now – but because he used to pee in their flower bed when he was a toddler; same with Hillary Clinton, when she was seven and badly muffed a dance recital (she declared “What difference does it make now?!” after that one too).  We have this inclination towards contempt from those that knew us when, but if you think about it, that can be a good thing, as it can keep us grounded.  It is part of the school of humility.  If my wife had me on a pedestal all the time, I’d probably be insufferable (even more than I am now).

GOD’S ANSWER: My Son came to bring not peace, but a sword.  Nowhere is that sword’s cut felt more painfully yet productively that when it is swung by family and familiars.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

Leave a Reply

