Numbers 7-9; Mark 7

Mark 7:21-23 “From within people, from their hearts, come evil thoughts, unchastity, theft, murder, adultery, greed, malice, deceit, licentiousness, envy, blasphemy, arrogance, folly.  All these evils come from within and they defile.”  That is a great list to contemplate every night at one’s bedside, examining one’s conscience.  I don’t think our Lord failed to cover any sins with this utterance.  You know – it is easy say – well, at least I have never murdered anyone.  Of course you have, and I have, with our tongues.  Saint James has some pungent things to say about the tongue’s power in the service of evil.  Some sins (e.g. adultery) are obvious grave sins; other can be grave or of a lesser nature.  For example, Bernie Madoff’s sin of greed is obviously more egregious than me tasking the last slice of pizza whether everyone else got a fair share or not.  An interesting one Jesus mentions is folly.  It insinuates we may be judged sternly for the Three Stooges stupid things we do.  Striving to develop and mature in the spiritual life is critical in discerning the routines sins we are blind to – not just the ones we do but the good we fail to do.  Something I have recently discerned is my intolerance for what I think is a stupid question, which is arrogance on my part.  Feel free to ask me about how I’m dealing with this shortcoming…on second thought, don’t.

GOD’S ANSWER:  My Son has it covered.  Purge these things from your heart and you will be perfect, as I am perfect.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

2 Comments on “Numbers 7-9; Mark 7”

  1. John Plaskowsky Says:

    Tom, Regarding intolerance and impatience, the French mystic Mathilde Bertrand-Boule lived by a rule: I must always make excuses for others; always forgive.I must love, love ardently the soul of my neighbor, and excite myself in charity towards those persons who cause me the most pain.I must never excuse myself, even when I am in the right, if I cannot do so without irritation.I must never make an observations or a reprimand without thinking of the pain it will give the person to whom I make it, and without grieving over this myself beforehand.  I must always reflect when I see the faults of others, how weak I am myself and how much I fall short of my own good intentions.  Others have, as I have, good thoughts, and have made resolutions which they find very difficult to put into practice.


  2. Excellent commentary John. Giving people the benefit of the doubt is highly unfashionable these days.


Leave a Reply

