Numbers 19-21; Mark 11

Numbers 21:5 “the people complained against God and Moses, “Why have you brought us up from Egypt, to die in this desert, where there is no food or water? We are disgusted with this wretched food!”  I find it easy to be amazed by the persistence of the Israelites in their skepticism in the face of the miracles God performs on their journey, but if one keeps in mind these miraculous events are spread out over the course of forty years, their short-term memory issues may be more understandable, if not forgivable.  Probably many of these complaining people had not been born yet when Israel crossed the Red Sea, or the punishments for unfaithfulness were meted out in the earlier years of the trek.  That is where “passing on the faith” is such an important duty of parents and grandparents.  I believe at my particular judgment that will be on the agenda.  One of my regrets is I didn’t become truly devout until my children were out of the nest; if I had a “do over”, as a family we would have spent less time watching garbage TV together and devoting time to prayer and Scripture.  But we don’t get do-overs, in the sense of using a time machine, but we do get them in what we do with the opportunities that come our way the rest of our lives.  And I don’t want to sound too mournful: my sons are fine men and I couldn’t be more proud of them.  I just pray for them and hope they come to know Jesus Christ as their truest friend in this life, as I have come to know.  Knowing that and loving Him in return is “having our house built on rock”, as He spoke of.

GOD’S ANSWER: If you do not believe as the materialists do that you are product of blind chance, then take your life to the logical conclusion that I have a plan for you.  Now if part of the plan is for you to get squashed by a falling piano, it won’t hurt as much as you imagine, especially if you are prepared for your life’s review with My Son.  And by the way, being hit by that piano is not the end of the plan.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

Leave a Reply

