Deuteronomy 1-3; Luke 1

Hi friends.  Mary and I just spent an extra-long weekend down in Florida, visiting with my oldest son’s family and the new grandson.  He’s doing very well: he’s a milk-lusting version of Dracula, and my poor daughter-in-law is his Mina Harker.  I guess that makes me van Helsing: “Ah my dear Mina, you look so pale.”  Seriously, both mother and son are doing great, and praise God for that.  I also got to play dueling dinosaurs with my other grandson (I lost), and mentored him into catching his first fish; if it makes you feel better PETA, it was catch-and-release.  All in all a wonderful four days.  Grandchildren make me think of John the Baptist’s words “I must decrease, so he may increase.”  So as they increase, I must decrease.  It’s the natural order of life.  A lot of unhappiness is caused in our culture by a refusal to accept decreasing.

Luke 1:44 “For at the moment the sound of your greeting reached my ears, the infant in my womb leaped for joy.”

“Non-persons” don’t leap for joy, so please abortion advocates put the “It’s not a person” argument away.  All rationales in this regard are specious; e.g. “When there is a heartbeat it is a person”, or “When it is born it is a person, or “When it gets a Social Security number it is a person.”  As a Catholic embracing the teachings of the Church at the moment of conception it is a person and a person for eternity, although C. S. Lewis speculated that Hell is a loss of personhood (“We are Legion”).  This will not be a just society as long as the rights of all persons are not respected, and in the proper ordering of those rights: Life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness (property).  It’s not Jefferson being haphazard that that they are in that order.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

Leave a Reply

