Deuteronomy 13-15; Luke 5

Luke 5:12-13 “…Lord if you wish, you can make me clean.”  Jesus stretched out his hand, touched him, and said, “I do will it.  Be made clean.”  And the leprosy left him immediately.

In my experience of group prayer, the majority of the intentions are for individual people currently ill or suffering in some way.  “Lord if you wish…” the leper pleaded, and the Lord did wish it.  Contrast this with the “thorn” in Paul’s flesh, that he prayed be taken away, but he was mildly rebuked with “My grace is sufficient unto you.”  We must always not let God’s seeming deafness to our petitions discourage us.  He knows what is sufficient unto us.  At my last visit with my neurologist, he looked at the atrophy in my hands and commented “Hmmm, more than a year and your hands still look like that.  You may have some permanent damage.”  Not great news, but I am grateful I can type, and despite hitting the Caps Lock key unintentionally a lot, I can make a living.  Yes, I would like to be fully restored, but who knows, if I were I might – like the Israelites – start regaling in my own capabilities and forget the Lord.  Some degree of disability might actually be a gift, a reminder that “My grace is sufficient unto you.”

And I hope everyone is having a recollective yet joyous Memorial Day!  I like my steak medium by the way.

GOD’S ANSWER: As My Son said, I really do the exact number of hairs on your head.  I know what you need.  I know your troubles, your pains – and your joys.  Talk to Me about them every day.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

Leave a Reply

