Life changing? One can hope…

I watched an ETWN program Memorial Day called “Bookmark”, in which the host interviews an author about his or her latest book.  The show was with Dr. Bill Thierfelder, president of Belmont Abbey College:

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=bill+thierfelder&rh=i%3Aaps%2Ck%3Abill+thierfelder

He was a very engaging interview, and I’ve started reading his book.  There were two key points for me from the interview.  The first was that “peak performance” occurs with 100% focus and effort (there is no “110%”) in the present moment.  When we are doing this in the present moment – not distracted by thinking about potential future failure or past failures; winning or losing – we are also closest to God, who is outside of time yet present in every moment of time.

The second point was a charming story about him working with an NFL football pass receiver who dropped a ball in practice and cursed and stomped his feet.  Dr. T asked him what happened (he had observed that he turned his head before the ball got there).  “I don’t know, I just dropped the ball.”  Dr. T then asked him what it was he said when he dropped it, and the player sheepishly said “Well, you know I dropped the ball.”  He then asked him “Shouldn’t you be saying “Thank you Jesus!” and the player looked at him goggle-eyed and “Eh?”  Dr. T, responded “Yes, Thessalonians 5:18 right? In all circumstances give thanks, for this is the will of God for you in Jesus Christ.”  So the next time you drop one, proclaim “Thank you Jesus!”  About 8 balls later, the player dropped one, and Dr. T heard “Thank you Jesus!”  And when he asked him why he dropped the ball, he replied “I turned my head too soon.”  In other words the player was in the present moment, not ego-involved regarding his performance.  And that player went on to display the most reliable hands on the team.

So what about this resonated with me?  I’ve been an angry bird for a long time.  Guillain-Barre is after a year my hands still feel half-asleep.  So I drop things a lot.  I recently dropped a Coke Zero in the break room at work trying to put it in the refrigerator, and it exploded all over me and the room.  I did not respond with “Thank you Jesus!”  Fortunately I was the first one at work that morning, so no one was scandalized.  I seem to be a magnet for idio – umm, aggressive drivers – on the road of late, and I tend to bless them with “STUPID S. O. B.!” or some other cheerful invective.  Sometimes God gets involved, if you know what I mean.  I’ve been perplexed on how to control these outbursts: I take them to the confessional and I do better for a time, but eventually I fall.  So saying “Thank you Jesus!” is a strategy that has not occurred to me.  I’ve had the opportunity to use it twice today, and once it was “Thank you too honey!” for leaving that cup of water on the bathroom sink for me to knock over and get some practice.  I see all kinds of potential future opportunities for “Thank you Jesus!” besides dropping things and road rage…

  • When Wally (our aging Dachshund mix) pees in the house…”Thank you Jesus!”
  • When my boss tells me a project I’ve been working on weeks has been shelved or has to be retested from the beginning…”Thank you Jesus!”
  • When the Browns do something boneheaded to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory…”Thank you Jesus!”
  • When the lady at Subway puts mayo on my sub after I requested “No mayo”…”Thank you Jesus!”
  • When Mary asks me to vacuum the entire house…”Thank you Jesus!”…..well, let’s no lose our minds here.  J

God bless,

Tom

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith, Humor

One Comment on “Life changing? One can hope…”

  1. Stan Sikorski Says:

    Karen had me read a book that has resounded several “truths” that I have come to believe. They resolve around God, serendipity, and some of the things in your review of Dr. Thierfelder. I think that you too will find it interesting that we cannot escape that “When we are doing this in the present moment – not distracted by thinking about potential future failure or past failures; winning or losing – we are also closest to God, who is outside of time yet present in every moment of time.”

    The book is: . It has a worldwide audience. Have you read it?

    Stan


Leave a Reply

