Joshua 1-3; Luke 12

Luke 12:16-21 Then he told them a parable. “There was a rich man whose land produced a bountiful harvest. He asked himself, ‘What shall I do, for I do not have space to store my harvest?’ And he said, ‘This is what I shall do: I shall tear down my barns and build larger ones. There I shall store all my grain and other goods and I shall say to myself, “Now as for you, you have so many good things stored up for many years, rest, eat, drink, be merry!” But God said to him, ‘You fool, this night your life will be demanded of you; and the things you have prepared, to whom will they belong?’ Thus will it be for the one who stores up treasure for himself but is not rich in what matters to God.”

The “rich fool” is one of my favorite parables.  It is one that no one should hear and walk away from scratching their heads.  As an aging boomer, this parable is especially resonant.   I see so much Madison Avenue output geared at my demographic – e.g. investments, retirement community living – that the message is “Now as for you, you have so many good things stored up for so many years, rest, eat, drink be merry and play much golf!”  It is a very seductive message.  That is why the health issues Mary and I have struggled with of late are such a blessing, a warning shot across the bow if you will to focus instead on becoming rich in what matters to God.  Retirement should be considered an opportunity to focus more on these matters, not an opportunity to live the so-called “good life”.  Those are my thoughts, I welcome others.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

One Comment on “Joshua 1-3; Luke 12”

  1. Stan Sikorski Says:

    Tom and Mary;

    You, of all people, deserve and should “live the good life.” I don’t think our God intended us not to enjoy the fruits of the earth, else we’d be supping molten lava and be house pets of the Isis family. Those of us who have needs should be aided and or comforted. But like on earth, every valley leads to the next mountain and so on. We never know where our journey will end. Hopefully it will be in that righteous glorious valley of Psalm 23.

    It’s the over-achiever, the wealth for wealth’s sake who can’t even begin to figure out what to do with what they have that I feel this parable is aimed at. Those who worship at the altar of the golden calf (or the thighs of Nicki Minaj) or anyone of this earth are in for a S U R P R I S E. I just don’t want to be too close to all that gnashing of teeth and screaming. Get me seats in the upper mezzanine!

    God bless and

    Stan


Leave a Reply

