Joshua 13-15; Luke 16

Joshua 14:10-13 “…now I am eighty-five years old, but I am still as strong today as I was the day Moses sent me forth, with no less vigor whether it be for war or for any other tasks. Now give me this mountain region which the LORD promised me that day, as you yourself heard. True, the Anakim are there, with large fortified cities, but if the LORD is with me I shall be able to dispossess them, as the LORD promised.” Joshua blessed Caleb, son of Jephunneh, and gave him Hebron as his heritage.”

Joshua 15:15-19 “From there he marched up against the inhabitants of Debir, which was formerly called Kiriath-sepher. Caleb said, “To the man who attacks Kiriath-sepher and captures it, I will give my daughter Achsah in marriage.” Othniel captured it, the son of Caleb’s brother Kenaz; so Caleb gave him his daughter Achsah in marriage. When she came to him, she induced him to ask her father for some land. Then, as she alighted from the donkey, Caleb asked her, “What do you want?” She answered, “Give me a present! Since you have assigned to me land in the Negeb, give me also pools of water.” So he gave her the upper and the lower pools.”

Scoffers like to say the Scriptures are on par with other ancient mythologies, like those of the Sumerians or Greeks.  This claim is baloney.  The stories in the Bible are about real people.  In these chapters of Joshua which are dry descriptions of real estate apportionment emerges this beguiling aside about Caleb, who in word and deed is an Israelite Chuck Norris.  But in his daughter’s hands he’s Silly Putty.  There is something enormously charming about that.

GOD’S ANSWER:  You men do well when you remember Eve was a higher creation that Adam.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

Leave a Reply

