Judges 4-6; Luke 21

Judges 6:14-16 The LORD turned to him and said: Go with the strength you have, and save Israel from the power of Midian. Is it not I who send you?  But he answered him, “Please, my Lord, how can I save Israel?  My family is the poorest in Manasseh, and I am the most insignificant in my father’s house.”  The LORD said to him: I will be with you, and you will cut down Midian to the last man.

The story of Gideon is another great example of how God acts with power through the powerless.  I find it fascinating how Gideon made several “give me a sign” requests.  I would think if I ever heard the voice of God instructing me to do something, I would react like a Parris Island recruit receiving direction from R. Lee Ermey.  It is also a great example of why you really don’t want God talking to you: it is never like meeting a friend at Starbucks.  God talks directly to people when He has something extremely challenging for them to do, something where they feel poorly equipped, or where they feel it is going to end badly for them, or both.  And once He speaks there is no opting out of the challenging task it would seem: God respects our freedom, but who ultimately says “No” to God outside of the fallen angels?  Well, I’d like to say “Not this cowboy”, but I do it all the time when I sin.  God speaks to us through His Word and His Church, and sadly I say “No” all too often.  But I keep trying to say “Yes”, and that is what this life is all about, striving to answer God in the affirmative.

GOD’S ANSWER: I present to you My Son – listen to Him!

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

Leave a Reply

