A Lament (like we need more of those)

I was in Eucharistic Adoration this morning, feeling like I had this great post brewing in me, but I got nothing – or not much of something.  I’m just an ordinary guy of ordinary intelligence, feeling the weight of my inarticulateness.

I have not been feeling much “Christian joy” of late.  For example, it is a timely Gospel today, the parable of the Good Samaritan.  I was reading an article yesterday in the National Catholic Register about Canada’s making assisted suicide/euthanasia legal, closely modeling what is currently legal in Belgium and the Netherlands.  Quote:

“…Canada has entered a frightening world in which several thousand years based on Judeo-Christian morality have been rejected.  It is as if the Good Samaritan of the Gospels is no longer praised for helping the wounded man, beaten and broken on the side of the road, but is lauded for bashing the victim’s skull, all in the name of ending suffering.”

A stunning analysis.  Could the Good Samaritan one day be the Bad Samaritan?  A professed admirer of ISIS named executes a mass killing in Orlando, and it’s the fault of “Christian culture”.  Five policemen are murdered, and “pigs in a blanket” is celebrated by many.  These men are not viewed as someone’s sons, fathers, and uncles, but as animals deserving of untimely death, an injustice proclaimed by those waving their fists and precipitating violence at injustice.  We are definitely in a time where good is declared evil, and evil good, as Chesterton said was the sure sign of a society in decline.

Our pastor, who just returned from a week with our Mustard Seed mission in Nicaragua, gave us from the pulpit the “homework assignment” of detaching ourselves from the news for a week.  That seems like great timing for me if I follow it (I will).  This is one where I can’t claim the dog ate my homework.  To quote Fr. Jack:

I just came off the plane from Nicaragua, where they have nothing, back to here where we have everything.  I’m ready to go back to Nicaragua.

We have to change our own hearts first.  Then maybe the hearts of those who know us may be motivated to change – creating a “change reaction”.  I saw a billboard in Florida last week that claimed 3,000 babies in the womb are killed every day in this country.  As long as that diabolical injustice continues, what hope is there for justice for anyone else?  In my own heart I need to lay down my arms against Them, and realize they are someone’s sons, daughters, mothers, fathers, uncles, aunts.  As Saint Paul said, our true enemies are not of flesh and blood, but of dominions, principalities and powers.  I guess I have the blues because for all of our problems in this world, Jesus Christ is the solution, and He is a solution vehemently denied by so many, if He even enters their minds as a possible solution at all.

So thanks for hanging with me, and God bless.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

Leave a Reply

