2 Samuel 1-3; John 14

Life’s been a bit of the narrow, uphill road of late.  I sprained my foot in a fall, out of work Thursday and Friday.  I have a tooth with a cracked root: that puppy has to come out, and come out soon, before the antibiotics run out.  The doctor who x-rayed my foot gave me the good news that nothing was broken or dislocated, but the bad news that my bones were weak: would I like a $500 osteoporosis test?  With all the Will Smith eloquence I could muster, I replied “Naw.”  How weak could they be if my 280 lb butt came down on my foot and nothing broke?  So I got all that going for me, which is nice.  Thank you Lord!  May I have another?

John 14: 27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you.  Not as the world gives do I give it to you.  Do not let your hearts be troubled or afraid.

We keeping hearing from political pundits how Americans are “afraid” these days, of Islamic terrorism, of unfettered immigration, of national debt, of a declining economy, and so on.  When this message is delivered by a campaign, it is followed up by how their candidate is going to “protect” us.  Now at least among the people I work with, am neighbors with, and go to church with, I don’t see the fear.  Maybe concern is the right word, but they don’t make their daily decisions factoring in a possible terrorist attack.
They actually statistically would have more to fear from fellow commuters who text while driving, but they aren’t afraid of them either (maybe we should be).  Speaking as a Catholic I’m more troubled from the fact that beliefs like “marriage is between a man and a woman” that when openly expressed a few years ago would have elicited “Well, duh” responses now get vitriolic accusations of bigotry and hate.  The Orwellian and devolving concept of “hate speech” has taken legal root and I see the potential for much future unjust suffering.  Yet while Jesus does not promise protection from such suffering, he encourages us to be of good cheer and keep our eyes on the prize of eternity.  Seems counter-intuitive, but the rewards in this life for his main men the Apostles were beatings, imprisonment, and ultimately violent death – except John, who got to end his days in the luxurious island retirement community of Patmos.  Recalling that, I guess being ripped on Twitter is not so bad.

GOD’S ANSWER: All the rooms in the New Jerusalem have a nice view, and free room service.  When they threaten to boil you in oil, keep that in mind.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

Leave a Reply

