2 Samuel 22-24; John 21

John 21:18 “Amen, amen, I say to you, when you were younger, you used to dress yourself and go where you wanted; when you grow old, you will stretch out your hands, and someone else will dress you and lead you where you do not want to go.”

This is one of my favorite verses of Scripture, one I see as resonate through my life as a son, a husband, and a father.  I remember as a young man anticipating having my own car, and being excited about being able to “go where I wanted” sans parental permission.  That intoxicating sense of freedom was relatively short-lived, as I got married, and then became a father.  Now the children have their own lives, and my wife and I are more tied to each other than ever, as time takes its toll and our physical independence begins to wane.  We are becoming more and more dependent on God, and on our community through whom God works.  And our friends in this community are on the same path, and God works through us to help them.  Through it all there is a sense of joy, a sense of the nearness of Heaven, for as we decrease Christ increases.

GOD’S ANSWER: The road to Heaven can be a rocky, steep climb, but persevere nonetheless.  You’ll forget the toughness of the journey when you see the view at the top!

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

Leave a Reply

