2 Chronicles 7-9; Acts 27

2 Chronicles 7:1-2, 17-22 When Solomon had ended his prayer, fire came down from heaven and consumed the burnt offerings and the sacrifices, and the glory of the LORD filled the house. But the priests could not enter the house of the LORD, for the glory of the LORD filled the house of the LORD. … As for you, if you walk before me as David your father did, doing all that I have commanded you and keeping my statutes and ordinances, I will establish the throne of your kingship as I covenanted with David your father when I said, there shall never be wanting someone from your line as ruler in Israel. But if ever you turn away and forsake my commandments and statutes which I set before you, and proceed to serve other gods, and bow down to them, I will uproot the people from the land I gave and repudiate the house I have consecrated for my name. I will make it a proverb and a byword among all nations. And this house which is so exalted—every passerby shall be horrified and ask: “Why has the LORD done such things to this land and to this house?” And the answer will come: “Because they abandoned the LORD, the God of their ancestors, who brought them out of the land of Egypt, and they embraced other gods, bowing down to them and serving them. That is why he has brought upon them all this evil.”

It is amazing to me that despite multiple theophanies and the incredible blessings God bestowed upon his life, Solomon could not remain faithful to God.  Perhaps in his old age Solomon got senile, which excused him to some degree.  The Bible does not explicitly say so, but one gets that feeling.  There is a movie about Solomon starring Ben Cross (Chariots of Fire) that infers when Bathsheeba died – to whom Solomon was intensely devoted – things started going squirrely with him, his 700 wives getting the upper hand.  That movie also shows Solomon and the Queen of Sheba as two spicy meatballs that ended up being part of a recipe that resulted in a baby, speculation that probably was on the cover of the “Jerusalem Enquirer” more than once.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

Leave a Reply

