2 Chronicles 31-33; Romans 7

Romans 7:15 What I do, I do not understand. For I do not do what I want, but I do what I hate.

In this statement, Paul captures the grit of the struggle of the spiritual life, and the temptation towards the embrace of Gnosticism, the heresy that the material reality is evil and salvation is being freed from our evil “shells” with the release of our spiritual goodness.  Our bodies and all of created reality in truth is good, yet fallen in nature because of sin.  We should strive not to be released from it, but to perfection in spite of our fallen nature, looking forward to our bodies being returned to us perfected.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

Leave a Reply

