Esther 1-3; 1 Corinthians 9

Happy Fat Tuesday everyone, or for me, Happy Fat Everyday!

1 Corinthians 9:16 If I preach the gospel, this is no reason for me to boast, for an obligation has been imposed on me, and woe to me if I do not preach it!

In 2008 I lost my job of almost 15 years – 2008 was a bad year for a lot of people – and this “storm of life” initiated a desire find out what this Catholic thing was all about, and that resulted in deepening in and a fervor for my Catholic faith.  I am a cradle Catholic who never fully left the Church, but for most of my life didn’t give it the priority it deserved.  This deepening has kindled at first a desire to share my faith, which has evolved into a sense of obligation.  Catholicism is a bottomless treasure chest of goodness, beauty, and truth, and I hope my babbling about it make it attractive to some and repellent to no one.  I often try to bring some humor to the table, because I don’t have the IQ points to inspire anyone playing the exegete, and mindful of Father George Rutler’s observation that the one thing Jesus withheld from us while on earth was his mirth, which we will fully experience in Heaven.

Have a joyful Lent!

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

One Comment on “Esther 1-3; 1 Corinthians 9”

  1. Stan Sikorski Says:

    The same to you!

    Subject: [New post] Esther 1-3; 1 Corinthians 9

    Thomas Walker posted: “Happy Fat Tuesday everyone, or for me, Happy Fat Everyday! 1 Corinthians 9:16 If I preach the gospel, this is no reason for me to boast, for an obligation has been imposed on me, and woe to me if I do not preach it! In 2008 I lost my job of almost 15 ye”


Leave a Reply

