1 Maccabees 10-12; 1 Corinthians 15

1 Corinthians 15:19 If for this life only we have hoped in Christ, we are the most pitiable people of all.

It is something that weighs heavier and heavier as I get older, the reality of physical death.  In the fullness of health and vitality as a young man, death was some vague rumor: I went to funerals of senior relatives, but what happened to them was impossible to relate to me. It’s not so impossible to relate to many years later. I am amazed at how fast the last twenty years sped by; e.g. it seems like we very recently had the Olympics in Atlanta, and it was 1996!  So I’m sure that the next twenty if I’m granted that many will be even more speedy. But my hope more and more resides with Christ.  I am the man blind from birth who had mud smeared on his eyes, washed, and now I see with eyes of faith, and worship him who has healed my spiritual blindness. And I live in great hope. I’m quoting from memory an episode Fr. George William Rutler’s series “Unchangeable Truths”:

In the Song of Songs the lover proclaims “Arise my friend, my beautiful one, and come! (Song of Songs 2:10) And Christ will say to us, even in the extremity of age, to us from our deathbeds “Arise my friend, my beautiful one, and come!”

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

