Job 10-12; 2 Corinthians 9

Job 10: 8-12 Your hands have formed me and fashioned me; will you then turn and destroy me? Oh, remember that you fashioned me from clay! Will you then bring me down to dust again? Did you not pour me out like milk, and thicken me like cheese? With skin and flesh you clothed me, with bones and sinews knit me together. Life and love you granted me, and your providence has preserved my spirit.

There’s an obvious difficulty in reconciling suffering in our lives with God’s love and ultimate purpose.  A peek into my personal life: since 2008 I have undergone job loss, two bouts of malignant cancer, Guillain-Barre syndrome, a spouse with malignant cancer, and a son with a brain tumor.  Yet I can tell you with assurance that these trials are gifts, and I have never been more certain of God’s love.  These sufferings (let me be clear, people have suffered far worse) have destroyed my overweening pride and brought me into a true relationship with Jesus Christ.  There is a painting that I love so much:

It just resonates with me: I’m that man on the Jesus’ left clinging to him.  “Without me you can do nothing” he said, and I have never been more convinced of it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

Leave a Reply

