Job 22-24; Galatians 1

Galatians 1:10 Am I now currying favor with human beings or God?  Or am I seeking to please people?  If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a slave to Christ.

In these words I believe Paul addresses an issue that is perhaps the most challenging in living a true, faithful Christian life.  Being a good model in my behavior I find easy enough; e.g. in following the precepts of the Catholic Church.  But it’s whether or not it’s a good moment to tell another person about these precepts and why they should adhere to them is a tougher decision for me.  It’s not fear of being labeled as judgmental (today’s seemingly most unforgivable social crime) that gives me pause, but the fear of pushing a person farther away from Christ.  It’s easy to intervene when a person is obviously harming themselves – as in addictions – but when they are perceiving their sin as a good thing, that’s when it’s tough.  I pray every day for the grace of discernment in my interactions, and for the grace of the removal of the plank in my own eye.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholicism, Faith

Leave a Reply

